get your skinny on, no, really

Three things tend to happen to me when I speak about weight management. People will:

  1. Ask me how I stay thin  – then ignore the answer
  2. Quip matter-of-factly that I must be one of the lucky ones who never gains weight -then dismiss everything I say after that.
  3. Buy my products but won’t believe they can become more fit and thinner, so they don’t.

Do I find this a little annoying? You betcha, but mostly it makes me sad because it means they don’t have any faith in themselves. They believe that it’s not possible to be thin and fit inside and out, so they give up internally, never gaining real traction – even if they follow my game plan and temporarily lose a few pounds.

I believe it is because of our psycho culture. How is anyone to make a dent in their weight and self-esteem with all the crazy “solutions” out there? It’s no wonder people eat a whole pizza one day, fast for a week and then visit the plastic surgeon.

I used to be skinny; really, really skinny. In high school, at 78 pounds I was affectionately called snowflake (I was light and flaky!)  and Rah Lean (I cheered and was very lean). But like many young women, when I went off to college I gained an enormous amount of weight. So much so that when I returned home NO ONE recognized me – and people did not like the new me at 60 pounds heavier either. I kept that weight on and gradually added on another 25 pounds for good measure. Then I moved to N.Y. and then to N. J. and got really fat; okay so I also got pregnant but the weight I gained during that pregnancy (over 100 pounds) was certainly not all baby! He was big, don’t get me wrong but I was still left with an amazing amount of weight and depression to match it after giving birth.

So when I tell you I’ve been there please believe me, and when I say it was work to lose it please don’t get discouraged because what I discovered will help you get your skinny back on very quickly, I promise.

So how did I deal with that problem? At first I did what every self respecting person does when she finds herself only fitting into a moo moo so she could visit the market, I starved myself. But starving myself only left me even more tired and cranky, and had little effect on my weight past the second week.

I won’t bore you with the drama that unfolded, but eventually I found an amazing discovery about myself: I was happier and more energetic when I was physically playing with my son. That may sound silly and simplistic but that little discovery (don’t miss it: happy AND energetic) sent me to a new level of personal weight management and I realized I might be onto something. At first these feelings were hit or miss. I would push the ball back and forth on the floor, or play peek a boo around the corner, or we’d just splash in the bathtub together. Some activities caused feelings of increased energy and delight while others had little impact on me.

Noticing my energy level increase whenever I was physical only occurred during certain physical activity though. My energy did not increase when I was doing boring situps or calisthenics …no, no, it only peaked when I was having a bit of fun while being physical in some way.

For the first time I believed I could overcome the weight problem. And I got serious about what was bugging me too; I came to realize that  the “happy”and “fun” feelings were somehow tied to the energy I derived from the activities AND the ensuing weight loss.

That fledgling beginning with my son is what my entire health and fitness management plan has been built on ever since.

There is so much more to it, of course, but the most important point is – do what you love and believe you can change whatever pattern you have developed for yourself. Your reasons for increased weight and lack of motivation started somewhere but it doesn’t have to stay that way. You have so much power; you just have to find your key. And finding the key is extremely easy. It is right in front of your face if you will only slow down long enough to notice.

I told you that getting your skinny on is not just about your physical weight. It’s about your whole self and when you fess up to that, you will be the one everyone will ignore when you answer their question “how do you stay so thin?”

And, by the way, now I love calisthenics and situps.  But that’s a blog for a different day.

12 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Arline
    Dec 03, 2011 @ 13:10:37

    Hey Raeleen! You are so right! I joined Weight watchers in January and sad to say until now have only lost 2 pounds. Am I giving up? No way! But, those pounds didn’t get lost until I “looked myself in the face” and started changing some things immediately. Can’t wait to read your next blog!!!

    Reply

    • shakeupyourlife
      Dec 03, 2011 @ 13:24:53

      You are on your way dear, sweet, BEAUTIFUL Arline! Congrats on the 2 pounds – I know you’ll make it happen. Thanks for reading and for continued support, I really appreciate it!

      Reply

      • Arline
        Dec 03, 2011 @ 15:12:00

        You have inspired me to start my own blog! I started selling Ava Anderson non-toxic skincare and makeup a few months ago. I love the product and feel good about informing people on how many toxins are in just our skincare alone! Yes sister – I am going as “green” as I can. I hope you’ll follow my blog once I get it set up. Missing you terribly! Send me an email and let me know when you’ll be in Providence OR when I can come up your way!!

  2. Anny Payne
    Dec 03, 2011 @ 18:32:04

    I Am so pleased to see your Blog…How exciting!!! I look foreward to more. ~Your auld classmate and pal Anny xo

    Reply

    • shakeupyourlife
      Dec 04, 2011 @ 08:43:34

      Hi Anny, I’m soooooo happy you are following and reading my posts. I’m having a very good time with it. Let me know your thoughts going forward, I love the feedback (good and good alike!)Seriously, Please let me know what works and what you don’t like as much. It will really help me guide future posts.

      Reply

  3. shakeupyourlife
    Dec 04, 2011 @ 08:17:58

    Of course I will follow you and I’m so happy my blog has inspired you, yay! Mystic is beautiful. Maybe you could bring the babe or the 2 babes (hubby and child!) and take a stroll through town and have some egg nog or cider at our humble home. Would LOVE to see you!

    Reply

  4. sweetopiagirl
    Dec 05, 2011 @ 08:10:30

    Reblogged this on Inspiredweightloss.

    Reply

  5. sewrynek
    Dec 05, 2011 @ 17:23:22

    Love your blog Raeleen – way to go! I’ll spread the word!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

