I didn’t say that

Ever read a really great quote and just get it, I mean really get it? Like it hit you between the eyes and you want to live by it? You might even cut it out and tape it to your mirror or keep it in your wallet. Well, I’ve been saving quotes (and articles and magazines and books) for years. So today I’d like to share a few of my favorites as well as provide a short commentary about what their enduring power has been for me. Here it goes:

“Even if you are on the right track, you’ll get run over if you just sit there.” ~Will Rogers

I love this one because it is so common to start down a certain road in life and then sort of get paralyzed by all the stuff that happens on a given day. And then one day you look back and realize you had stopped moving some time ago. Action is the true motivator of all. So if you find the right track, keep running! Not only is it healthy to do so, you’ll probably get ‘ahead’ and isn’t that what everyone seems to want in life?

” You’ve got to get up every morning with determination if you’re going to go to bed with satisfaction.” ~George Lorimer

Ahh, that old friend determination. So many have written about it. Do you notice when you are really determined about something, that somehow you plow through obstacles which might normally stop you? And don’t you seem to gain greater energy and even more joy after you have powered through a difficult task? Satisfaction is so much sweeter after working really, really hard on a difficult undertaking. Yup, that’s what good ole’ George was writing about in the early 1900’s.

“Your goals, minus your doubts, equal your reality.” ~Ralph Marston

How many times has someone told you to get back to reality? Well their reality and your reality and my reality are all very different. When you add it all up, your reality is simply what you are striving for less all your trepidation’s; so I say, go for whatever floats your boat and create an amazing reality for yourself – it is yours alone, believe it or not.

And lastly for today:

“If you have built castles in the air, your work need not be lost; that is where they should be. Now put foundations under them.” ~Henry David Thoreau

I love this one. We are all dreamers but sometimes I forget and maybe you do too, that dreaming is how we got all the cool stuff we have now. All those dreamers before us did the work to realize their dreams. They used persistence and determination to create the goals and push through their doubts. They didn’t just sit around once they found their ‘right track’ either. They failed over and over again, all the while creating a sound and sturdy foundation for their dream to become the new reality.

That’s all for now from me; send me your favorite or inspiring quotes, I’d love to read them.

7 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Renee
    Jan 08, 2012 @ 08:46:34

    Ok, I am ready for my day now. I enjoyed a leisurely cup of coffee as I read from Memoirs of a Geisha…I have been meaning to read that for years. Followed by a nutritious breakfast as I caught up on emails (I know, I know, you should be mindful while you are eating not be distracted by reading emails…hey time is short).
    I particularly connected with the quote from George Lorimer. Indeed, I strive to live in this manner on a daily basis, obviously some days are more satisfying than others.
    Here is the quote I would like to share. I cut it out of one of my fitness magazines and have it resting in my journal. The author is unknown:

    “It’s not who you are that holds you back, it’s who you think you’re not.”

    Ahh, yes… I do believe I lived with this way of thinking most of my life. No more everyone, I have resolved to view myself and life from a half glass full standpoint. It is just to damn dull and depressing any other way.

    Reply

    • shakeupyourlife
      Jan 08, 2012 @ 11:28:46

      Hi Renee and thank you for your insights as well as the quote. I love that you are walking your talk, very rare, congrats on such a huge achievement….I knew there was a reason to keep rubbing elbows with you! I have not read Memoirs of a Geisha yet, but it IS on my list. Perhaps a trip to the library this week is in order. Thanks for the thought! By the way, I believe the beautiful quote you love is by Denis Waitley. He has many other amazing quotes as well. He is one of the most respected authors on high performance human achievement. I love his books. He is also a huge proponent of ‘glass half full’ too. Happy Sunday!

      Reply

      • Renee
        Jan 09, 2012 @ 09:19:03

        Thank you for the author’s name. When I have time I will have to investigate some of his work. I think my other new plan is to read a fiction and nonfiction text so my brain is getting both information and pleasure through reading.

  2. Arline
    Jan 08, 2012 @ 08:56:30

    Hi Raeleen! Here’s one of my favorite quotes by Alice Walker. It’s helped me to always remember to create my own happiness. “Don’t wait around for other people to be happy for you. Any happiness you have you’ve got to make yourself. “

    Reply

    • shakeupyourlife
      Jan 08, 2012 @ 11:07:11

      Hi Arline,
      I love it, thank you! Alice Walker is one of my fav’s too. Any her words always seem warm and just-right, like a cup of herbal tea on a cold winter night. Thanks again for a beautiful words.

      Reply

  3. Trackback: Right Track, Wrong Move. « tamingthechameleon

Leave a Reply

